Tax Assessor 

The Tax Assessor is responsible for assigning the value of real property within Holland Township. This value is an assessment which is used as a basis for taxation. The Tax Assessor is responsible for the maintenance of ownership lists and property transfers. The Tax Assessor also represents the township in all tax appeals.

Each year by January 31st, the Hunterdon County Tax Board mails a postcard to every property owner with the current year tax assessment and the net property taxes billed for the prior year. Each homeowner should review the assessment for correctness and contact the assessor with any questions. This postcard also contains appeal instructions if a homeowner disagrees with the assessed value shown. Assessment appeals must be filed on or before April 1st of the current tax year. State law requires the Tax Assessor to assess all real property on a yearly basis by October 1st.

The following website may be of assistance concerning tax matters:
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation

TAX APPEALS - Please note that you can not appeal your taxes, only your assessment. If you are dissatisfied with your tax assessment, you may speak with the tax assessor. If after speaking with the tax assessor, you wish to contest your assessment, you may file an appeal to the Hunterdon County Board of Taxation. This may be done between February 1st and April 1st of each year.
Click here for detailed information about tax appeals from the Hunterdon County Board of Taxation.

TAX DEDUCTION INFORMATION - for NJ Property Owners
You may be eligible for one of the following tax deductions. If you have not already applied and you meet the requirements, you can pick up an application from your local Tax Assessor and Tax Collector.

SENIOR CITIZEN DEDUCTION - Age 65 or over as of December 31st of pre-tax year.
Owner of the property or life rights and residing in the property as your principal residence as of October 1 of the pre-tax year. Income less that $10,000.00 ­ include income of spouse but not including ONE of the following: Social Security, railroad retirement or government pension (limit is maximum Social Security amount). Surviving spouse may also be eligible, but must be 55 years old or older and not remarried. Senior Citizen Deduction Application

PERMANENTLY OR TOTALLY DISABLED PERSONS DEDUCTION - Must meet all the requirements of the senior deduction except age requirement. The applicant must have been declared permanently and totally disabled by Social Security (form SSA-30) or by a physician.
VETERANS DEDUCTION - Must have had active wartime service in the US Armed Forces and been honorably discharged (copy of DD214). Must be a citizen and resident of N.J. and have owned the property by October 1 of the pre-tax year. Wartime service dates are listed on application. Surviving spouse must comply with the above and not be remarried. The Veteran had to have been a resident of the State of New Jersey at the time of his/her death. Veterans Deduction Application

DISABLED VETERANS PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION - Disabled Veterans and surviving spouses of Disabled Veterans who have not remarried may be exempt from property taxes if they meet all the requirements. Requirements include active wartime service in the US Armed Forces, honorable discharge, owner of and occupancy of dwelling as principal residence, be a citizen and domiciliary resident of New Jersey. Have a United States Veterans Administration certification of wartime service-connected disability as described on form or other wartime service-connected disability that is totally disabling and 100% permanent in accordance with the VA Schedule and not so evaluated because of hospitalization or surgery and recuperation. Surviving spouse of veteran who died on active wartime duty may also qualify.

If you are receiving a Senior Citizen or Disabled deduction, you must file an Annual Post Tax Year Statement on or before March 1 of the post tax year. Disabled Veterans Deduction Application

Good news for Holland Township residents eligible for the 2015 Homestead Benefit Credit!
The state of New Jersey recently approved the remaining 50% of benefits be issued as a credit towards the 4th quarter installment due on November 1, 2018. As a result, eligible residents were sent a replacement bill/coupon showing the new amount due.

Please note the following important facts:
• Benefit credits will be applied to the following quarter on accounts that have been prepaid.
• If your statement reads “Advised Copy” under the bar code DO NOT PAY. This is just a notice of what your mortgage company will be paying on your behalf.

Homestead Benefit:
• To file applications by phone: 1-877-658-2972
• To file applications online: www.njtaxation.org 
• To ask questions: 1-888-238-1233
• In-Person assistance at Taxation Regional Information Centers:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/organization/ts-regional.shtml 
• Online information:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/homestead/geninf.shtml 

Senior Freeze:
• To ask questions or to order an application: 1-800-882-6597
• To check the status of a filed application: 1-800-882-6597
• To listen to information: 1-800-323-4400
• In-Person assistance at Taxation Regional Information Centers:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/organization/ts-regional.shtml 
• Online information:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/index.shtml 

Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for Hearing-Impaired Users: 1-800-286-6613 or 609-984-7300

REDUCED ASSESSMENT FOR FARMLAND: Land devoted to agricultural or horticultural use may be assessed for property tax purposes on its value for those uses as well as its productivity rather than on the market value of the land for any other use. To qualify, the land must be a minimum of five acres which are devoted to agriculture or horticulture for at least two consecutive years prior to the tax year and must continue in that use until the end of the tax year for which the claim is made. The land usage must result in product sales or anticipated product sales totaling at least $500 per year for the first five acres, plus $5.00 per acre for each acre over five, except woodland or wetland where the minimum income must be $.50 per acre for any acreage over five. The reduced assessment must be applied for on Form FA-1 annually on or before August 1 of the year prior to the tax year. For applications and/or questions contact the Holland Township Tax Assessor.

Michelle Trivigno
Tax Assessor

Hours:
Tuesdays 9:30am-Noon
Thursdays 9:30am-2:30pm
Phone: 908-995-4830
Fax: 908-995-7112